top of page

The Background

The Survivor Initiative was founded in the summer of 2012 by a small group of volunteers who were shocked to learn of the significant funding shortfalls for programs that support Holocaust survivors living below the national poverty line.

Historically, social services for Holocaust survivors in need have been funded by grants from the Conference on Jewish Material Claims Against Germany with assistance from local Jewish Federations, agencies and private donors. 

Recently, a decrease in funding from these traditional revenue sources combined with a substantial increase in aging survivors applying for more intensive services has placed local and national survivor suport programs in jeopardy.

The Survivor Initiative seeks to raise awareness and funds to assure survivors live their remaining years in dignity.

Youth Ambassador

Avital Krifcher, Charles E. Smith Jewish Day School


National Ambassadors

Ariela Alpert​

Lidore DeRose

Yael Eisenstat

Zachary Lainer


The Leadership

Rachel Cohen Gerrol, Founder & National Chair

Meredith Burak, Chair of Public-Private Partnerships

Allie Pyke, NY Co-Chair

Melissa Jane Kronfeld, NY Co-Chair


Washington, DC Founding Committee

Maxwell Lipnick, Founder & DC Chair 

Ariella Brodecki

Eva Davis

Deena Feinstein

Rebecca Kastan

AJ Lynn

Mark Weingram


New York Founding Committee (Still In Formation)
Benjamin Bronfman

Hannah Bronfman

Barry Farkas

Moses Gross

Eric Lerner

Michael Melohn

David Wolfson

Israel Wolfson






Washington, DC 

New York, NY

Los Angeles, CA coming soon...


bottom of page